Eastern Martial Arts

Smith Martial Sciences Eastern Martial Arts study is based primarily off Shintoyoshinkai Combat Jujutsu (American Budokai International) and Shuri Ryu Karate-do.

Shintoyoshinkai Combat Jujutsu consists of 6 areas of endeavor:

  1. Ukemi
  2. Atemi
  3. Nage
  4. Waza
  5. Katamewaza
  6. Kimenokata

These areas culminate into a self defense system with the guiding principle – “Stop, Shock, Takedown and Control”

Shuri Ryu Karatedo is a system whose ciriculum, unbroken since it’s founding by Robert Trias, represents the major cultures that bred and grew Karate into the art known worldwide today. Kata are taken from the 3 major Okinawan systems:

  • SHURI-TE: Naifanchi (Tekki) Shodan, Nidan, and Sandan. Passai (Bassai) Dai. Ku-Shanku (Kanku) Sho.
  • NAHA-TE: Sanchin. Tensho.
  • TOMARI-TE: Wanshu (Enpi, Empi). Niseishi (Nijushi-ho) Nandan Sho. Ananku.

Trias Shuri Ryu further divides the system into kata exploration methods that start with basic movement interpretations (Bunkai) and graduate to self defense interpretations (Go Shin Do).



No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Hours & Info

Monday - Shintoyoshin Jujutsu
Tuesday - Western Combat (grappling)
Wednesday - Shintoyoshin Jujutsu
Thursday - Western Combat (Striking)
Saturday - Western Combat (weapons)

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

%d bloggers like this: